Our People

Professor Joanna Kidman, Director

Joanna Kidman (Ngāti Maniapoto, Ngāti Raukawa, Ngāti Toa Rangatira) is Professor of Māori Education at Te Herenga Waka Victoria University of Wellington. Her research explores the impact of institutional and systemic racism on Māori communities.

As a sociologist working in the field of indigenous studies, Joanna’s work takes her to nineteenth century battlegrounds across New Zealand, where Māori defended their tribal homelands against colonial invasion, and she has written about the aftermath of those conflicts and how they have shaped the nation. She has published on social movements and youth activism in Aotearoa and the life-worlds of taiohi Māori. Her recent works include the co-authored publications Fragments from a Contested Past: Remembrance, Denial and New Zealand History (BWB, 2022) and Fierce Hope: Youth Activism in Aotearoa (BWB, 2022).

Centre Staff

Scholar In Residence

Dr Sara Salman is Scholar In Residence at He Whenua Taurikura.

Sara is Senior Lecturer of Criminology at Te Herenga Waka Victoria University of Wellington. She researches structural and political violence and has written on government neglect and the rise of reactionary movements. Sara engages in public scholarship and initiatives on social cohesion and counter extremism. She serves on He Whenua Taurikura Research Committee and is a Research Associate of the Centre.


Governance Board

Governance Board members are trustees of He Whenua Taurikura charitable trust.

  • Andy George (Acting Chair)
  • Vanisa Dhiru
  • Ikhlaq Kashkari
  • Tracey McIntosh
  • Dave Moskovitz

Research Committee

The Research Committee comprises between six and eight scholars from around Aotearoa who provide independent advice and expertise on research funding applications, ethics, evaluation criteria and other research -related matters.

Current Committee members include:

  • Professor Te Kani Kingi (Ngāti Pukeko and Ngāti Awa), Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi (Chair)
  • Professor Mohan Dutta, Massey University
  • Professor Jacquie Kidd (Ngāpuhi), Auckland University of Technology
  • Paul Morris, Emeritus Professor of Religious Studies, Te Herenga Waka/Victoria University of Wellington
  • Khairiah Bte Abdul Rahman, Auckland University of Technology
  • Dr Sara Salman, Te Herenga Waka Victoria University of Wellington
  • Seuta’afili Dr Patrick Thomsen, University of Auckland
  • Associate Professor Waikaremoana Waitoki, University of Waikato